Bushcraft/Outdoors-related uni project: Ideas?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

s'étonner

Forager
Aug 19, 2010
Leicester, UK
Hello :)

I'm currently studying music technology at university, and this year, I am to undertake a large technical project on a subject of my choice (well, sort of).

I'd like to somehow involve my love of bushcraft/the outdoors. Whilst it does have to link in to music/audio technology in some way, this link can be tenuous!

I was wondering if anyone here has any ideas as to what I could do?

Suggestions that I have had so far are:

- Something related to music listening habits whilst hiking. Ie- is there a particular style of music more suited to hiking than another? Do people walk further and more effectively whilst listening to a particular type of music?

- Something relating to the subject of field recording- hiking and bushcraft can lead people to interesting places, which in turn could provide interesting recording opportunities, such as wildlife, environmental sounds, etc. These could in turn be applied to a piece of music, or compared to studio-recorded 'fake' sound effects of wildlife, environments, etc. Which is more effective or realistic?

- Again on the subject of field recording- the analysis and/or creation of a new piece of gear or technique, that may benefit those dealing with audio in an outdoors environment (I'm thinking someone like Ray Mears sound guy here!). Perhaps a waterproof microphone? An ultra-lightweight digital recording device?