bird Id

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Bisamratte

Nomad
Jun 11, 2006
Karben
Anybody know what sort of bird this is?

birdcloseup.jpg

Sorry for the poor quality pic, it was taken through the trees and out of seven frames its the best one I got (that's enlarged in quite a bit)
here's the original taken with a 300mm lens. I hope it gives a bit more sense of scale (it was huge)
PICT0241.jpg

Could it be an eagle?

Cheers

Andy

leon-1

It is possible that it's an eagle. I know that they have golden Eagle in Switzerland, the flight feathers and tail look very much like one (as does the general body shape), I am no expert though, if it was really big there is a good chance it may have been one.

Bisamratte

Nomad
Jun 11, 2006
Karben
cheers leon-1, I might go out again next weekend and see if I can get a better photo. Its quite often around because I recognised its call from times that I've thought "I wonder what bird is making that noise?" :rolleyes:

Actually I have just been listening to a golden eagles call and it doesn't match what I heard. Any other suggestions what it could be?

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
Bisamrette,

If the noise was surprisingly haunting peee...uuuuu it could be a large buzzard (up to 1.5m wingspan). The call can be quite quick (almost peeuu) or elongated. we have one round here that is a huge size - well over a 4 foot wingspan. The curved markings under the wing are right but they look quite similar to a golden eagle without something to judge size against.

Other than that it is consistent with a golden eagle (up to 2.3m wingspan)

Wish I could help more

Red

pothunter

Settler
Jun 6, 2006
Wyre Forest Worcestershire
Hi Bisamrette