'allo, from Canada's NWT....

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Jimmy the Jet

May 21, 2007
Northern Canada
Well, I've been on here for a little while, but haven't actually said hello...

I'm a cop in the Northwest Territories - a little community on Great Bear Lake called Deline (formerly known as Ft Franklin). The local First Nations people here have been living off the land for centuries, and since the community is less than a century old, there are still a lot of folks who actually grew up living on the land in tents, hunting, trapping and fishing for sustenance.

We are a fly-in only location, except for about 7-8 weeks when the winter road is open. The next community is 125 kms, and is smaller than ours. From there it's another 460 kms to Ft Simpson, where the all-weather road starts. It's also where O'Hare knives are made!!

Anyway, I'm an outdoorsy type who hoards knives and other outdoor, bushcrafty stuff. Not from the UK, but I've been twice. And I'm a fan of that Mears feller... Kinda reminds me of a young Mors Kochanski, 'cept on TV.

scottishwolf

Settler
Oct 22, 2006
Ayr
Welcome to the site mate, it's a great place. Sounds like an amazing place you stay in. Maybe hope to get there myself someday if the current UK crunch sorts itself out.

All the best and have fun, Davie, 'Scottishwolf' ;)

Jimmy the Jet

May 21, 2007
Northern Canada
Thanks folks...

Here's a pic taken not far from my house... Just a bit of the local fauna... (which by now is probably mittens)

wolf.jpg

jojo

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 16, 2006
England's most easterly point
Welcome to BCUK, Jimmy. What a beautiful animal...and a good picture too. I hope he has not become mittens...:yikes: