Advice for first knife and spoon please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Goodison555

Jan 14, 2011
UK
Hi everyone,

I've been browsing the forum for a while now and really enjoying a lot of the informative posts.

I'm hoping to do some wild camping with friends, much more experienced than I am, and hopefully spend more and more time outdoors. I'm a keen fisherman (sea angling, and game fishing) and walker so not totally green when it comes to outdoor persuits.

However, I have no knowledge of what would make a good bushcraft knife (i want to spend less than £100). Are there any you would personally recommend? What is your preference when choosing between high carbon and stainless steel and why? I have also been thinking about starting my first carving project (a spoon no less!) but need some help on what wood i should be looking for. There is a woodland area near where I live that is full of birch, a lot of which is just lying around (a lot of this wood seems to be very wet/rotten). What should I be looking for? Any suggestions and help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

MartiniDave

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 29, 2003
Cambridgeshire
Hello & Welcome.

For your first knife I would recommend any one of the various Frost Mora knives that can be had for £10-£20 from many on-line retailers. Learn to sharpen it and use it, then make your mind up if you really do need anything "better". While you're at it get a Frost hook knife to use for the bowls of your spoons - again around a tenner. What metal? Well, I like stainless around food and the coast, but high carbon is fine if you look after it.