"You have a woman's hand my lord!"

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

TomBartlett

Spoon worrier
Jun 13, 2009
Madison, WI
www.sylvaspoon.com
Not sure if this is quite the right place for this, but here we go!
I've recently got into this bushcraft m'larky and am having a great time. I've been furiously whittling spoons, toggles and even a wooden fish! However my hands, tempered from years of reading books and generally living a comfortable life, have come up in blisters from the carving. Any tips for 'toughening' up my hands or is it just a case of waiting for calluses to form?

Steven J

May 8, 2009
Australia
Just keep going. Some say that methylated spirits will harden the skin but I am sceptical of its real effect. Like most things it is also down to technique. Maybe lighten up on the grip a little???? I am a school teacher by trade but also own a 16ha block of land. I always seem to raise the blisters on the weekends and school holidays because I cannot keep up the hard work during the week when I am busy. Gloves are a good solution. Keep going, have fun.

Steve

mr dazzler

Native
Aug 28, 2004
uk
Dont be discouraged. Do a little and often, even 15 or 20 minutes a day. Its like athletes that have to stay in trianing. If they stop it takes a long time to get back to fitness (ask Mr D Beckham) Build up your hands (and your strength) gradually. I dont get blisters, but EG yesterday I spent probably 3 hours using axes and an adze, and several more using knives and hook knives (at least until my catastrophic accident-see hook knife danergous thread......) No blisters, just a crescent shaped cut:)

Biker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
I'll wager these dainty pinkies never weighed anchor in a storm. And don't get me started on your purse...