Worth a punt

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

The Frightful

Apr 21, 2020
Essex
Gerber Mansfield slipjoint scandi grind. Bought one on recommendation. I'm no knife expert by a country mile but this is by far a fantastic unbelievable quality D2 knife for sub £20, dont say i didn't tell you
:thumbsup:

Reactions: Tony and Kadushu

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
You got any pics please??? x
1710517932930.png

Call me impatient, but I will try Google (or other search engine) for pictures, just highlight the name of whatever in the post, right click and click on whatever "search web" sort of option is offered.

Heinnie shows blade length as 8cm, which might be the same as needing to grind off 3.8mm of length from the tip, which is a lot without power tools. However, it is possible that if you go by the letter of law, it looks like the cutting edge is shorter than the blade.

Personally, I won't go near a D2 Scandi with a 10 foot pole. I posted about this a long time ago, and know that some people with diamond stones thought that working a big single bevel edge in abrasion resistant steel was no problem. I have diamond stones, and a grinder, and on a Scandi I want high edge stability, which comes from fine grain and small or few carbides. D2 is noted for large carbides and abrasion resistance. I have a D2 Swamp Rat and it cuts like crazy, but after needing to flatten bevels of a D2 Spyderco/BushcraftUK proto, it has put me off the big bevels in that kind of steel.

Interesting that Gerber UK is marking it as 10% off at £45 and Heinnie is marking it as £19.95.

Aug 4, 2022
England
The market for a slip joint bushcraft knife at *over* 3 inches must be...... small?

If it was sub 3 inches, I can see a fair few people "taking a punt" at £20.