Woodturning woe!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

munkiboi182

Jan 28, 2012
taverham, thorpe marriott, norfolk
hi guys
this is one for the wood turners and joiners.
so im a hobbyist wood turner and i have only ever turned solid timber. just recently i've been playing with glueing different pieces together to create different patterns. problem is everytime i turn the glued pieces the glue heats up and fails. i've tried a number of different glues (pva, cascamite & 2 part epoxy) and they fail most of the time. what's the recommended glue for this?

cheers guys

simon

skate

Nomad
Apr 13, 2010
East Devon
Never really generated much heat turning! Is this occurring while sanding on the lathe or while actually turning? I have only ever used pva or superglue, neither of which have ever failed.

Perrari

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 21, 2012
Eryri (Snowdonia)
www.erknives.com
I have used PVA before without any problems. As it says on the bottle 'stronger than wood itself'. Like skate I have never generated significant heat whilst turning either.
Are you using enough glue and letting it set properly ? I would leave it a minimum of 24 hrs before touching it.

ged

Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.
If you're heating things up while you're turning them then something is wrong. My first guess would be that the cutting tool isn't sharp or its angle to the work is poor.

munkiboi182

Jan 28, 2012
whilst turning. have to admit my chisels need a major overhaul. they're cheap chinese ones that my grandad gave me with the lathe. they're blunt as anything but i'm not much good at sharpening them. i dont even think they will sharpen. maybe thats the problem. the pva was probably the better of the 3. will give the superglue a go tho. i tend to think of super glue as a repair glue rather than a making glue