Which rifle? I have access to land, but no experience....

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
I am a complete beginner when it comes to shooting, i am very novice and although i can shoot straight and know about the safety aspects around shooting.... i know nothing about guns, there components etc.

Firstly i was wondering if anyone had a link to a good website/pdf that would explain a lot..

Secondly,

a group of friends that shoot have access to land and i have been invited along, i have shot at targets and things but would like to have a go at small vermin/rabbits etc.

What rifle would you recommend for a novice on a budget? I will of course be getting advice from them, but they have shot together for years and explain that a 800 quid gun is the only way forward...... unfortunately I’m not prepared to spend that much....!

Does anyone have a second hand gun they want to sell on? Where/ what is best for me to get?

Sorry for the vagueness but want to get an idea from some experts!!

Am I going about this the wrong way? Should I go and get some tuition?

Don’t want this to become a separate hobby, but would like to be able to take it for a few shots either at tin cans or small vermin as and when....

Thanks in advance...

a quick Google reveals that that a F.A.C is a firearms certificate, i have read an application form for my local police force and there is nothing stopping me getting one, but this seems a little extreme...I was under the impression i could get an air rifle that was under 12ft.lbs muzzle energy without a licence?

Are rifles with less than 12ft.lbs pea shooters and no good for what I’m looking for?

Siberianfury

Native
Jan 1, 1970
mendip hills, somerset
get a BSA Lightning, 12 ft/lb.
mines always put pellets in bunnies and dinner on the table

rabbitdead003.jpg

ATB
Josh

Soloman

Settler