Instinctive Archery. Your experience please.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

demented dale

Dec 16, 2021
hell
Hello there. I've been doing archery for about 18 months now. I shoot a 35 lb re curve bow and shoot instinctively (target focus, point, release). After about a year I started to see a very noticeable improvement. The problem I am having is consistency. On some days I could give robin hood a run for his money and others I can't hit a cows bum with a banjo. It can be really frustrating. What are other peoples experiences with this form of archery? I have heard that it can take years to get good and consistent. I would like to know I m not alone with this or equally important that, I am, in fact, alone with this.. As ever I would really value your personal and collective experience. Thanks in advance. Dale x

bobnewboy

Native
Jul 2, 2014
West Somerset
1: Join a club and get some coaching. It’s not easy to spot errors in your own form, particularly those errors that creep in with fatigue.

2: Double check your equipment. Depending upon the type and class of archery you’re shooting, you should measure some data points when your setup is shooting well, and then recheck those data at each new session. Strings stretch, servings wear, some arrows lose their spine a bit, and so on and so forth. If nothing else the checks give you a confidence boost.

3: Practice frequently and build confidence but don’t get cocky. It’s easy to start questioning everything including yourself on a bad day, but I only ever found that heaps extra pressure internally. So relax, have a laugh and enjoy the shooting.

Last edited:

demented dale

Dec 16, 2021
hell
1: Join a club and get some coaching. It’s not easy to spot errors in your own form, particularly those errors that creep in with fatigue.