Which honing stone to get for my sharp tools?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

malente

Life member
Jan 14, 2007
Germany
Here is one for the knife experts.

I own these sharp tools:

• Fällkniven A1 (link)
  • Gerber Gator Serrater - Serrated Edge, Clip Point (link)
  • Victorinox Swiss Army Knife Huntsman 1.3713 (link)
  • A really cheap stainless steel knife (Globetrotter.de own brand, similar to their Elch Hunter), which I intend to use for practicing woodcraft and sharpening/ honing. This knife has a concave edge.

• I plan to buy an axe/ hatchet eventually (maybe in the course of this year)
  • I am not sure whether I need a folding saw at all???

Now my confession:

I have never used a honing stone before. :eek: :banghead:

The reason is that I do not (yet) really use them that often (I never use the A1 as I have no way of sharpening it… yet, and also because it is too valuable to ‘destroy’ by careless use).

I do mostly ‘modern-style’ trekking and rock-climbing. In those disciplines the use of sharp tools is very rare (as you all know). There, you simply can do without. Therefore I really never had the urgent need to sharpen my knifes… :buttkick:

Now I want to develop my bushcraft skills to be closer to nature, especially while trekking (big trip planned next May in Canada).

To cut a long story short, I need something to sharpen my tools. But what? :dunno: :dunno: :dunno:

Are the diamond/ceramic whetstone of Fällkniven (DC3 or DC4) any good? Would that be the right choice for the knives I have?.

Many thanks for all your advice! :You_Rock_

Cheers
Mike

Squidders

Aug 3, 2004
Harrow, Middlesex
Well, I would have a problem sharpening all of those with a DC3 or 4... added to that, the DC's can, from softer steels, remove a lot of material.