Which GPS?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

taws6

Nomad
Jul 27, 2007
Anglia
Hi,

Could someone please guide me as to which GPS I should look into, as I have no previous knowledge about what to look out for.
I need an easy to use, small and lightweight GPS that can grid reference my current position.
I enjoy hiking, and sometimes I lose track of where I am, so it would be nice to be certain where I am.
Also, I'm looking for a 'reasonably' priced unit.

Thanks for the advise......

Allen

Jan 5, 2006
Cumbria
one of the yellow garmin etrex will do the job. or one of the geko (smaller). Dont spend loads of money on bells and whistles as you just wont use them. I think about £80 ish will sort you.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Like Allen said, if you only want it for plotting your position then just get a basic model like the etrex or geko. A Colorado would be a nice bit of kit to own but it wouldn`t get used to its` potential bu me. I keep meaning to get a little geko to stick in the pack for emergencies.

mick miller

Jan 4, 2008
Herts.
I have a Garmin etrex summit; it's simple, reliable and very easy to add routes and suchlike with something like memory map, they frequently appear on eBay for around £40-50.

I still take a map and compass though!

VtBlackdog

Tenderfoot
Nov 12, 2008
VT~USA
I've used my Garmin Etrex Vista-C extensively and highly reccomend it; or the upgraded version....I even used it while flying to Florida last winter and could tell what towns we went over. I've done lots of geocaching with it and have hunted in some remote areas with confidence.

It gives you:
-color screen so rivers are blue and roads are black
-lots of map capability so you can really "see" where you are
-built in compass, very important as it correctly oreints the map while standing still
-runs on AA batteries