Where to Start?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tank

Aug 10, 2009
Witney, Oxfordshire
Hi All,

I am pretty new to bushcraft, most of my knowledge (which is very limited) is down to watching Ray Mears, Youtube, reading books and what I can remember from my days as a scout many years ago.

I am getting my very basic kit together to go out and start putting things into practice and turning my book knowledge into actual skills.

I am not about to go off on a weeks hike in the wilderness and not yet even planning to go out for a weekend or a night (mainly as I don't have the equipment ie sleeping bag)

But where should I really start? What can I go out and do on a Saturday or Sunday to start learning practical skills?

I want to get the fundermentals right before getting out and being in a situation where i am in a shelter that i get wet in and where i cant start a fire (cost thats my sort of luck) lol

Thank all.

Tim

Tadpole

Nov 12, 2005
Bristol
Hi All,

I am pretty new to bushcraft, most of my knowledge (which is very limited) is down to watching Ray Mears, Youtube, reading books and what I can remember from my days as a scout many years ago.

I am getting my very basic kit together to go out and start putting things into practice and turning my book knowledge into actual skills.

I am not about to go off on a weeks hike in the wilderness and not yet even planning to go out for a weekend or a night (mainly as I don't have the equipment ie sleeping bag)

But where should I really start? What can I go out and do on a Saturday or Sunday to start learning practical skills?

I want to get the fundermentals right before getting out and being in a situation where i am in a shelter that i get wet in and where i cant start a fire (cost thats my sort of luck) lol

Thank all.

Tim