Whats wrong with axes?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

archie3

May 9, 2007
LANCASHIRE
After looking around at various bushcraft courses I am amazed at how anally retentive most providers are about the use of axes. Phrases like "under no circumstances must an axe be used on this course". For instance the Woodsmoke Woodlander course 5 days in a forest and not an axe in sight!! I am fairly new to bushcraft but i would have thought that the use of an axe is a fundamental bushcraft skill. I know about the problems with insurance. But with suitable training an axe is probably as useful if not more useful than a knife. I was lucky enough to attend a course with a survival trainer who welcomed the use of axes.
Where would Ray Mears be without his Granfors Bruk small forest axe? :confused:

MattW

Forager
Jun 2, 2005
Warrington, UK
Hmm, hope you aren't a troll....

Anyway.
There's nothing wrong with axes.
However, there's no denying that it's really easy to injure yourself with an axe (especially a short axe) if you don't know what you're doing. This makes it very difficult and expensive to get insurance for a course which intends to use them. To make these courses economically viable, it's probably easier to just not use them.

Also remember that there is much more to bushcraft than axes (or indeed any cutting tool).

cheers
Matt

BorderReiver

Mar 31, 2004
Norfolk U.K.
Yep,public liability.

Some dick head injures himself by ignoring instructions and then goes on to blame the course providers and sue.

Way of the world these days unfortunately. :(

Jared

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 8, 2005
Wales
archie3 said: