What kind of GPS should I buy?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

leon-1

Abbe the guys are right, the ringed port is a standard 9 pin D type (otherwise known as a serial port).

I have the Etrex Vista and a GPS 12XL and have had good service from both. The GPS12XL is better under canopy and I have a lot of faith in it since I have been using it for well over 10 years now, it is also easy to operate and understand (something common to most of the Garmin range).

Peewit

Oct 26, 2005
Berkshire
Hi Abbe,

Although the port you indicate looks like a serial, I would advise you to check in the manual to make sure. If you have 8 x USB 2.0, your machine sounds more modern that my three year old PC. Mine has 4x USB 1.0 plus a serial. My thinking being that often the latest machines dont have serial.

If you have consulted the literature and are sure it isnt a serial - then all is not lost. There is an adaptor kit with a connection and a driver on CD, that GPS suppliers sell to solve the problem. I dont have the details to hand but if you decide you need it, I can probably show you where I saw one. I dont actuilly own an adaptrtor, so cant say how good it is, but the places that supply them seem reliable. You would be looking at between £20 to £40.

Hope this helps,

Peewit.

directdrive

Forager
Oct 22, 2005
USA