What blade ?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Trod

Tenderfoot
Apr 22, 2011
Wigan
Hi all , I'm pretty new to this and am in the process of building up my kit , I'm mulling over which direction to take chopper wise ! It will only be for fire making and general camp duties (no felling or shelter building). Do I go small hatchet / hawk or large knife ? I've been looking at a Bahco hatchet with fibreglass handle or large knives like the condor lochness , considering I have zero experience with axes but use a knife almost daily which do you experienced folk recommend ? Thanks

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
You won't go wrong getting Mora clipper for your standard bushcraft knife.

As for axes get yourself a laplander instead for now, it'll be a lot more useful :)

Trod

Tenderfoot
Apr 22, 2011
Wigan
Cheers for that , I sorta suspected that about the axe and I already own a folding saw but would a Mora handle any quick lopping ? I thought having a handy large blade would be frankly handy ! However your infinity more experienced than me so maybe its overkill

presterjohn

Settler
Apr 13, 2011
United Kingdom
The large camp knife seems to not be something that overly appeals to the British bushcrafter. The holy trinity for us Brits seems to be 4" blade, small saw and a small axe. The Americans also go for the camp knife. A small machete also kind of covers a similar job. You have to ask yourself what are you likely to be hacking away at to need one? If you are convinced you have a need for one you might like to look at something in the value range of blades such as the Condor Hudson bay knife. It looks the part and will not break the bank. For most tasks a Laplander and almost any of the Mora knives would suffice though. My personal favourite is the Mora HD.