Viking turnshoe high boots with a twist

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dreadhead

Bushcrafter through and through
Hi BCUK,

I present my personal pair of Viking turnshoes with a Pictish twist!

As a craftsman, one never stops learning. Though I am self taught in my craft, sometimes it is better and more fun to learn from another craftsman :) And anyone who has ever made turnshoes will know just how painful it is to get the pattern not only right, but adaptable. So as a personal project I decided to take a turnshoe course with turnshoe maker Peter Merret.

These boots are the result of several days tutoring with Peter, using his pattern based on historical finds but which he has adapted over the years to make them more comfortable and practical. I had a fantastic time learning from Peter who has a fierce dedication for turnshoes and plenty of patience as a tutor.

When it came to finish the boots however, I couldn't resist the chance to add a little 'Half-Goat' touch and tool them with Pictish spiralwork. I admit I may have got a little carried away...
The Vikings settled in various parts of Scotland, and came into contact with the Picts through raiding and trade so it's not impossible to imagine a Pict wearing Viking turnshoes (especially as similar styles of turnshoes were worn by the various cultures throughout the rest of Britian). For a Pictish leatherworker who trades in Viking leathergoods, they fit me perfectly :)

To forestall any requests, these boots were a personal project using another leatherworkers patterns. Therefor I will not be making these for sale. If you want the highest quality turnshoes to tread the land of our ancestors, get in touch with Peter through his facebook profile, you won't be disappointed!

HalfGoat Viking Pictish Boots 1 by Hamish Odinson, on Flickr