Up close with a Red Tailed Hawk

Had a cool (well actually bloody frigid!) encounter with a Red Tailed Hawk yesterday afternoon at the main intersection of the city I live in.
(Link after the picture.)
SAM_3929.JPG

http://exploriment.blogspot.com/2011/01/rescuing-king-james-or-handling.html

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
Nice rescue, I approve.

If a bird of prey ,in fact even the smallest grabs your fingers with its talons, boy is there power in that grab!

Immense power in fact.

morch

Native
May 19, 2005
Darlington
I once rescued a Tawny owl, and he/she decided to dig her talons into the palm of my hand, never felt pain like it!!!

Dave

Last edited:

robin wood

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 29, 2007
derbyshire
www.robin-wood.co.uk
I am no expert on North American raptors but Red Tail Hawk (or red tailed buzzard, Buteo jamaicensis) is a much larger bird about twice the size, they are commonly used for falconry.
1168232042_f.jpg

Blood on the beak is a minor injury to the cere, the delicate skin around the beak similar the cutical around our finger nail and nothing to worry about. My bet is that it flew into something (possibly big glass window they often do) was stunned for a few minutes and that if you'd let it go 5 minutes later it would have happily flown away.

Last edited:

Geoff Dann

Native
Sep 15, 2010
Sussex
www.geoffdann.co.uk
I once rescued a racing pidgin, a bit lame in comparison, Nice article and at least the right action was taken. :)

You mean "pigeon". A "pidgin" is a type of grammarless language developed when a load of adults with difference native languages are placed to together and forced to communicate. When they have children, those children spontaneously invent a grammar and the language becomes a "creole."

Shambling Shaman

May 1, 2006
In The Wild
www.mindsetcentral.com