Teach me about GPS!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
As much as it pains me to admit it, I have no knowledge about these things.

I am quite comfortable using a map and compass, indeed I teach navigation to a few youth organizations. However it is becoming aparent that I am turning into a dinosaur in not keeping up with technology!

What I am trying to find out is;

How expensive is the technology to buy and maintain? ... and how cheaply could I get away with?
Do you have to "buy" extra information like different scale maps?
Could a "Smart phone App" do something similar? - Please bear in mind that, while I'm thinking of upgrading, I don't have one of those either and it is likely to take an age for me to learn how to drive it!

... And anything else I'm going to need to know

TIA

Ogri the trog

scumble

Apr 30, 2011
Sussex
I'm a garmin fan so I've not really tried the other makes so won't be able to help with comparisons but the garmin models can be had for £130 - £160 for a good one. you can pay more of course if you need all the bells and whistles, you can also pay less with the base models under £100 but they're very basic.

Garmin provides software that enables you to plan your trip in advance and save your waypoints and routes which is handy.

Maps are extra as are updates and that can get quite expensive. I've never bothered to update mine as it does what I need and generally it's roads that change not woods or moors.

You can get apps for smartphones that will do the job but it'll eat up you battery and they never used to be that accurate, might have changed now.

If you're looking for one check it does what you want in terms of what maps it'll hold, look for battery life and waterproof level.