spoon knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Askdamice

Tenderfoot
Jun 20, 2006
Windsor Ontario Canada
Hello all,
I'm attempting to make my first spoon knife and with all the different styles of hooks, spoons and crooks out there, it's difficult to make a decision. I have made several knives in the past but with the crook, I'm a little in the dark about hardness, internal or external bevels... how do they differ from that of a straight knife? Any advice would be appreciated. Great site, by the way. I'm a newbie!

Joseph

Tenderfoot
May 27, 2006
Norfolk
No worries the frost spoon knives have the bevels on the outside. There in a similar shape to these and from the looks of it have the same bevel side (though it difficult to tell because of the high polish). The guy who runs this site says he's happy to answer questions.

http://www.pinewoodforge.com/catalog.html

The crook knife i made from a hoof knife had the bevel on the inside which I found worked but would dig in and take of more than I wanted. I'm in the process of making the bevel lest acute. I think it depends how you want material to be removed. With a chisel grind it makes the cut go deeper or takes material of in a controlled manner depending the angle of attack and its orientation on the blade.

I got the first link from www.outdoors-magazine.com which has a lot of info on grind styles and sharpening as does this site.

I've only ever carved one spoon but I'm on the lookout for some decent wood. All the knowledge I've aquired are from sources such as these. Have fun making and it would be great to see how you get on. Joe.

On the Pacific Northwest coast. red and yellow cedar is used a lot for spoons, masksand bowls. Good soft wood if you're beginning spoon and bowl carving. First Nations there have carved some pretty elaborate cedar utensils.