sober camping

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
T

tommy11

Anyone else here don't drink anymore?

My idea of camping in the past would have been to pitch tent, gather wood etc, then crack open the beers...

I suppose I can't be doing with getting drunk anymore.

Bushcraft can be good fun without alcohol....I mean you could spend hours just carving things from wood and enjoy the sounds of the forest...

maybe I'm ranting here...

mousey

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 15, 2010
NE Scotland
Yep - I do drink, I do like to drink, I don't drink as much as I used to - when I was a student I did get horrifically drunk alot of the time, but then I was young and 'probing my boundaries' I'd like to think I'm alittle more responsible now....

So when I go for a walk I don't always have a drink - otherwise I might as well just go down the pub - your quite right there are many many things [not just bushcraft related] that don't depend on being drunk or aren't enhanced by being drunk.

All things in moderation.

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
I enjoy a drink when out - I dont like to get drunk (or be bothered by drunks) when out.
I have been known to get a little pished in the past ... but never to the point of falling over/hangovers/puling/wasted next days ..
It aint what I am out for!

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Wouldn't bother me if I never had a 'drink' again.
Never really got the habit of feeling I needed one to be enjoying myself, tbh.
Fine if others want it though, just don't play silly beggars near fire and sharps when well oiled, and it's no bother.

Social libation ?.......is that kettle on ? :D

cheers,
Toddy

T

tommy11