Sleeping bag for big guy

• Hey Guest, For sale we have Hultafors Outdoor Knives with Firesteel PLEASE LOOK HERE for more information or use the Pay Now button in the sidebar

Dml

Nov 28, 2020
Uk
Hi
I'm new to the concept of wild camping and looking for some advise on modular sleep systems and 3/4 season bags. I've camped all my life in all seasons in the UK and Europe but always in a tent and with facilities.
I'm looking to use throughout the year in the UK and Germany with a bivvy and tarp or possibly a hammock.
I've been looking at both the british and dutch modular bags and the original carinthia defence 4 although I'm led to believe they are all essentially the same do they vary in size ? im a big 6'2 guy with a 49"chest . I've also looked at the snugpak special forces 2 although it is narrower than the carinthia it does have an option of an expander insert and the dd hammocks jura although the temp rating isn't as low at-5 .
What temperature rating should I realistically be looking at if sleeping clothed and booted ?

Just wondered if any of you larger guys have had experience with these bags or could offer an alternative?

Thanks in advance

brambles

Settler
Apr 26, 2012
Aberdeenshire
I am 6'5'' and have the Carinthia Defence 4 and Tropen combo , both in the 200 size. For the first time since I was a kid I have sleeping bags that fit me! Their warmth rating is accurate, sleep in them in normal sleeping clothes and you will be a lot warmer than "clothed and booted".

Reactions: CLEM

plastic-ninja

Jan 11, 2011
cumbria
I’m a similar size to you. 6’5 & big build under the fat layer. I have a Blue Kazoo Long bag which is a good size for me. I also have a Rock and Run down bag in XL which is also pretty roomy and super-warm.

CLEM

Jul 10, 2004
Stourbridge