Shedbodgery (not suitable for hill-walkers)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Chance

Nomad
May 10, 2006
Aberdeenshire
Shed·bodg'ery (n) : bushcraft practiced by enthusiasts without easy access to natural materials or natural skills.

http://www.bushcraftuk.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=1712&cat=500&ppuser=3662

Having witnessed firsthand the handiwork of tribal elders McGlinchey and Mears, I would never claim to practice bushcraft. As an engineer, I am allowed to excuse the rough edges on the corners that I've cut by labelling the result a 'prototype'. Here's an example of a shed-bodged slingshot :

1. Find a Source of Raw Material
In this case, a classic lady's Scarpa, left in my shed by the previous owners. Hill-walkers are advised not to look beyond this first image.

2. Process the Material
An exploded diagram of the same boot. Cobblers will forgive the incorrect nomenclature:
a) Rosa Klebb insert (proving that it's a lady's boot)
b) Tongue
c) Heel
d) Rear inner

3. Fashion the Required Pattern
Standard advice for a slingshot is that the optimum size of projectile is around the size of a golfball: the template pictured was computer-designed to fit one exactly. Going against conventional wisdom for improvisation of slings, I have used the inner from the boot, not the tongue.

4. Manufacture the Implement
On the left-hand side, a tennis ball-sized slingshot made simply by drilling four holes in the heel (c in Figure 2). On the right hand side, the more labour-intensive golf ball-sized version (about an hour from start to finish, once I'd got the boot apart). The candelabra shape fits the golf ball a lot better when it's under tension; but my house is too small and full of breakables to photograph it while swinging it around my head.