Rucksack capacity?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Draven

Native
Jul 8, 2006
Scotland
Howdy folks
Right...
Rucksack capacity has always sorta confused me... I've never really been able to figure out what I need.
So basically, how many litres should I be looking for, for a weekend trip?
Something that'll hold my axe, folding saw, knife, change of clothes, cooking gear, hammock, tarp, etc.....
Once again, I am confused :confused:
Cheers
Pete

Pablo

Settler
Oct 10, 2005
Essex, UK
www.woodlife.co.uk
I know the problem and I'm no expert, but I would think 45-55 litre is OK. I can fit in a change of clothes, FAK, axe, SA Trangia, spare meths, poncho, hammock, tarp, ration pack, utility kit into a 55 litre.

The most important thing is whether you are going to strap a sleeping bag and bedroll (self inflating mat, bivvi bag, liners?) to the outside or not. This would take up a lot more space if you pack it inside the rucksack. Many people prefer this. I strap mine to the outside therefore, I have more space inside.

Bear in mind winter kit takes up a bit more room as it tends to bulkier.

Water is another space (and weight) issue. Do you have access to water or do you have to carry it? This consideration would add a couple more litres to the capacity needed.

The final consideration is for how long are you going to carry the rucksack and over what terrain. Bigger normally equals heavier I would suggest.

Hope this helps

Pablo

sandsnakes

Life Member
May 22, 2006
West London
I started with a 60, went to a 75 and have ended up with an 85.