Roman army equipment

Flecktarnbiker

Tenderfoot
Mar 8, 2013
Hampshire
Hello
Im studying the romans once again at school and the moment were doing the roman army. To put it lightly, i have a love affair with the roman army and for a bit of fun i thought id make some equipment they used. I cannot work with leather so i thought of making a satchel from strong brown fabric and adding items but my question is, did the roman army use clay cups/plates?Ive heard reports of it but never seen any evidence so id thought id ask here as it is sort of bushcrafty. Also how could i make acceptable looking pots and pans? If youve read this far thank you ! Any help is appreciated
Fleck
p.s;Im only 14 so cant be to hard to do and my only whittling equipment is a penknife

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
Hi Biker,

Sounds like a good project and one I was interested in at school many moons ago, I was so chuffed when I got to wear some Roman armour as part of my project. You might find this link some use LINK. Though if you want to get straight to the roman soldiers eating kit click HERE. This lot are good at reproduction Roman military pottery which you could copy LINK as is here LINK.

Hope that's enough to be going on with, a sideways way to get info is to look/contact LARP (Live Action Role Play) groups, these guys tend to be able to do stuff on the cheap and are well researched, here's a links to ones bit about Roman soldiers mess kit LINK.

If you need more info let me know.

Cheers,
GB

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Without studying Corso's links, I reckon wooden plate/bowl would have been more robust and lighter than ceramic when marching - but they would likely to have used ceramic crockery whilst in barracks.

The fabric satchel would be acceptable to my eyes and I doubt anyone here would debunk your efforts.