Oil drum

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Jan 9, 2009
Perth
Got this oil drum lying around at work and was thinking about maybe starting a wee project with it. Was wondering if anyone's got any suggestions of what to make with it, bearing in mind that I have little skill or experience with this sort of thing before. Was thinking a simple hinged BBQ sort of thing for outside our shed to use in the summer but any suggestions would be appreciated.

ype3u7uj.jpg

Outdoordude

Native
Mar 6, 2012
Kent
You can make a burner for making charcoal out of it. Very effective. Ive also used it to make a pig trough for water.

Dave Budd

Gold Trader
Staff member
Jan 8, 2006
Dartmoor (Devon)
www.davebudd.com
there are lots of ways that I've seen an oildrum converted into a small charcoal kiln. The two that come to mind are simple with an angle grinder and no other tools :)

The first method (not tried it myself) is to cut a letterbox in the side and stuff your wood in there. Then you either set it alight and when good and hot you roll the drum over and cover any smoking gaps with soil to smother it. Or you treat it as a retort kiln, so fill and roll over into a shallow trench (so you can keep the drum airtight) and then light a bonfire around it, so cooking the wood inside the kiln.