Newbie woodwork project - advice - where to begin?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

davidpingu

Forager
Nov 3, 2012
Cwmbran
Hi everyone, I'm looking for some tips and advice on where to start with learning to do some garden projects. I'm a complete newbie to wood working but I've always had attention for detail and enjoy learning new skills, especially the ones I call life skills.

Over the past two years I've self taught quite a bit of mechanics. I love the hands on type stuff, I always get a sense of pleasure doing manual jobs (possibly because I'm sat behind a desk in a boring old office all day) not to mention the money you save.

I always think the money thing aside, you never quite know if at some point we'll need to be more self reliant. Needless to say this forum is right up my street when I see some of the skills people have in making clothes and leather working etc.

Anyway I'll get to the point.....

My garden is a really blank canvas with horrible rotten fencing and I want to turn it in to a purposeful living area. So I need to learn how to do the following:

Proper wooden fencing, not those poor quality panels you have to pay the earth for.
A decking platform at the back of the garden but with a roof over it, kind of like a porch area that makes a pleasant sitting area in all weather. In the cold I want to make use of an installed wood burning stove of some sort.
Then a shed, just for storage and a separate small undercover area for stock piling wood for the stove, maybe on the side of the shed. Also some planters for growing some veggies.