Mora Sheath with Firesteel Holder

Hey all,

I was given a mora on bushcraft course with a plastic sheath so I have thought about making my own leather one however the ones in the articles don't have the extra bit for a firesteel.

How do you go about adding a bit (ps im new to leatherwork). I was thinking if I add a simple rectangular piece folded in half it will be double thick at the point where it joins the main part of the sheath compared to the rest with a single thickness welt.

Any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks,
Andy

Tadpole

Nov 12, 2005
Bristol
Hey all,

I was given a mora on bushcraft course with a plastic sheath so I have thought about making my own leather one however the ones in the articles don't have the extra bit for a firesteel.

How do you go about adding a bit (ps im new to leatherwork). I was thinking if I add a simple rectangular piece folded in half it will be double thick at the point where it joins the main part of the sheath compared to the rest with a single thickness welt.

Any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks,
Andy
if you thin (skive) the two ends of the leather until each is half as thick. then when you wrap it round the firesteel, it will only be half as thick where it is let into the welt

Treemonk

Forager
Oct 22, 2008
Perthshire
You could try paring down the folded piece with a sharp knife to half thickness, alternatively you could cut alternating tabs so that they slot together.

Paring probably the more sensible way to go

Thijzzz

Nomad
Jan 8, 2007
The Netherlands
Skiving or sanding the parts down that becomes a pice of the welt works fine. You don't even have to sand them down to half the original thickness. Leather is a natural material and the 1 layer welt will blend into the, say, 1,5 layer welt, provided you all glue it at the same time and clamp everywhere.