mora plastic axe thingy...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bigant

Tenderfoot
Aug 30, 2009
Stoke on trent
hey all first post here so be gentle lol :) basicly was lookin on flebay for a new knife got about 50 quid to spend and was looking at the build your own blanks then i spotted this..
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-MORA-BUSHCRAFT-AXE-KNIFE-GIFT-SET_W0QQitemZ250305110012QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item250305110012&_trkparms=72%3A1298|39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A12|240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

just wondering if anyones had any experance of this plasticy axe it looks intresting for part of my landrovers kit.
cheers Ant.

mick miller

Jan 4, 2008
Herts.
I'm no expert but I'd say that pound for pound you'd do better with a Mora knife for around £8.50 and then spend an extra fiver to get a gransfors small forest axe or similar. Welcome to BCUK by the way...

EDIT: Do you actually need an axe? Maybe a folding saw might be more practical?

stickbow

Tenderfoot
Aug 11, 2006
Northampton England
Hi There
I have several Mora knives and the are fantastic quality so I guess the axe will be the same.
I would definatly go for it.

"Have fun shoot a stick"

bigant

Tenderfoot
Aug 30, 2009
Stoke on trent
wow thanks for the fast reply :) i allready have a folding saw and want to do some spoon making and things i had a nice mora knife but its seen better days :( a few years of no use has killed it *problems stoped me goin out an things* so gettin back into it all again :)

Simon H

Nomad
Feb 20, 2008
The Ashdown Forest
I think I'd give that a miss. No idea about the quality but if you break the plastic helve you're finished, whereas if you you buy a more traditional wooden helved axe you can at least repair it yourself.

mick miller

Jan 4, 2008
Herts.