Meeting like-minded people!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Hello!
I'm fairly new to camping/bushcraft and all, and my main concern is that I have absolutely nobody to be interested with. I'm 18, and everyone I know is either too busy drunk or gaming. (Don't get me wrong, I'm not opposed to either, they juts don't hold my interest!)

I'd absolutely love to get out for a long weekend if the woods or something, but of all my friends, not one has even the slightest interest in the outdoors.

My question to you all is "how did you meet new people?"

A second question would be, "if going alone, what're your top 5 tips?" I'll probably cry if I'm alone in the woods at night. Too many scary stories!

Thanks all! :)

Jake

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
My tip, get outdoors. Not for a weekend, just for a walk. Then go for a walk at night. Its lovely, cool and quiet and the worlds asleep. I was out watching the meteor shower last night whilst hedgehogs grumbled about, bats flew and owls called I just sat quiet, watched and listened - lovely. Of course it helps if you know the scream you just heard is a dog fox not a murder :). Immerse yourself gradually. For me, its not a social thing - its a nature thing.

I should probably have clarified that, I'm more interested in the security than the social aspect of going with a plus-one! ;) I'd feel a lot safer! Seriously, it's my own nervousness that stops me going solo.

I could of course just take the dog, but there's nothing quite like the shared campfire in my books!

Hi Jake,

This is a great place to start! Loads of people arrange meet ups and get togethers on here and some of my best mates have come from this forum. Where ever you are, I'm sure there are others that share your interest.

Where abouts are you?

Neil

Harvestman