Liquid Stove Fuel

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

modelmakerman

Aug 27, 2015
Bristol, UK
First post here but been lurking and reading for a long time; great site, really useful info everywhere.

Im new to liguid fuel stoves but Ive been using various liquid fuel lamps for years (mainly parafin/kerosene).

I recently bought a Coleman 424 stove second hand. Ive checked it all over and replaced the valve and generator. Everything seems to be working fine..... except I cannot get it to run properly. I always have a yellow flame no matter what I do, Ive looked around and seen a load of tutorials and as far as I can see the stove is working fine and Im lighting it correctly.

So the only thing I can think of is the fuel; Im using Panel wipe. Now I have to admit I bought this stove purely because I heard from many sources that it runs well on panel wipe and as I have a *cough* free *cough* supply of it from work I thought I was onto a winner but it seems maybe not?

The Panel wipe Im using is UPOL System 20 Panel wipe/Degreaser. MSDS Here: http://www.u-pol.co.uk/documents/datasheets/hsds/S2001-HSDS-US.pdf

The MSDS says it is "LOW BOILING POINT MODIFIED NAPHTHA - NAPHTHA (PETROLEUM), SOLVENTREFINED LIGHT". Which seems to me it should work fine as Coleman fuel is just Naphtha too?

I dont want to pay the extortionate prices for Coleman Fuel over here in the UK and I dont want to use Petrol either (smells and generator issues).

Is there any way I can make this panel wipe work or is there a better brand panel wipe I can find that will work?

Thanks
Dave

Phil P

Oct 8, 2014
West Lothian