leather advice please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

shaggystu

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2003
Derbyshire
i'm wanting to try my hand at making a sheath and as it's something i've never tried before i could do with a little help! i've read a few tutorials on the subject and i'm fairly confident that the actual construction of the thing is something that i'll be able to manage fairly well, but i haven't got a clue what kind of leather/thread i should be using. any suggestions for cheap (i'm without regular work at the moment, so when i say cheap, i mean cheap!) sources for materials would be great too. this is completely new skill for me so idiot proof advice would be appreciated!

thanks in advance

stuart

Carcajou Garou

On a new journey
Jun 7, 2004
Canada
Really inexpensive, use a nylon seat belt from a vehicle one piece tri-folded over; one fold to act as a belt loop another fold to the depth you want the knife to sit. Now glue edges and sew and rivet as needed. Done faster than explained. good enough for now till you make your leather one later. CG :yo:

Grooveski

Native
Aug 9, 2005
Glasgow
I've been using an old electrical screwdriver with a 3mm blade length as an awl and a stanley knife, sharpening them every now and then on a dry oilstone.
Handbags from charity shops are a great source of leather(in the absence of an Eric).
Got to watch yourself though. I had my eye on a pair of dodgy thigh-length boots the other day thinking quivers. The cashier was probably starting to wonder. :rolleyes:

Old fastflight strings seem to work ok as thread(knew I'd find a use for them someday :D ).