Leaky Tonka Tarp

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Scuba Pete

Forager
Nov 3, 2005
Glasgow
I am sorry to say my tarp has a leak. It's one from the group buy.

The leak is comming from the velcro loop at the top of the tarp. It seems that the water is soaking in from the webbing outside and saturating the loop which then drips water on me every so often. I noticed this when I was out at the weekend.

I wondered if anyone else had this problem and how they delt with it. All I can think of is cutting off the loop and getting some seam tape on there. I have never used this before so any help would be great.

Thanks

dommyracer

Native
May 26, 2006
London
I haven't had this specific problem, but I have noticed that the seam seal on this part of the tarp is starting to look white, which normally means its starting to delaminate.

I hope this isn't the case as Its only been used 5 or 6 times.

Dougster

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 13, 2005
The banks of the Deveron.
Leave the loop and seam grip on the inside anyway. I stitched up and seam gripped my ruscksack. It's amazing stuff. Should stop further leaks.

You must have been out in some heavy rain!

Alternatively, contact Andrew at Outdoorcode, he will suggest something.

scanker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 15, 2005
Cardiff, South Wales
I think I saw a tatonka tarp at the bushmoot with a poncho over the ridge - must have been leaking.

I've not had any problems with mine, but I haven't used it to sleep under, only for rain protection for family camping.

Is it possible to pitch the tarp in a way that the offending part isn't as badly exposed? Just a thought - I'll have to check on mine - there isn't an intentional slit in the webbing for a pole spike is there?

Scuba Pete

Forager
Nov 3, 2005
Glasgow