In the making: New indispensable piece of Bushcraft kit

jojo

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 16, 2006
England's most easterly point
I am a woodwork instructor working with people with brain injuries and, when one of my clients asked me if I thought he was capable to build an acoustic guitar, I said yes. Then after I realised the implications, I thought hum, I'd better try to be a few steps ahead of the game here and build a musical instrument of some description!

So I present: The Bushcraft Banjo...:D

I want to do it on the cheap, so my only expenses so far are the strings and fret wire, cost, about 10 quids.

What's the link with Bushcraft?? Well, I am using rawhide from a doggy chew from the pet shop. It had been sitting around for about a year now! Wood is off cuts of Ash and Oak and left over nails from another project.

Then, if you take it with you in your Bushcraft expeditions, you'll have a ready supply of: wood, rawhide, nylon strings, fret wire, the nails, you could even make a long strap with paracord!

So I feel vindicated in showing it off here!

DSCN0105-3.jpg

DSCN0107-1.jpg

DSCN0108.jpg

DSCN0110-1.jpg

This is it so far, I am going to glue the neck to the pot today, and will be awaiting the arrival of the strings and fret wire in the next few days.

Then, there will be the minor inconvenience: the fact I have never played a banjo, won't even know how to tune the thing! But Hey, part of being a bushcrafter is that you're adaptable to new challenges!!

Last edited:

gregorach

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 15, 2005
Edinburgh
Well, I admire your confidence... ;) Luthiery is to woodwork what surgery is to butchery. Good luck!

(You might find this useful. Or worrying... ;))

sasquatch

Jun 15, 2008
Northampton
Nice one, not enough banjos out there, especially home made ones! I'm a big fan of cigar box guitars but admit I haven't made one yet... I'll be looking forward to the finished project, keep us posted!

jojo