How to treat a Woodlore knife handle?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mat

Forager
Nov 20, 2003
Hampshire
No, I don't mean should I take it out for a meal or take it to the cinema! I was wondering if the handles on a Woodlore knfie need treating in any way. I read something about 'tung' oil somewhere????

Mat

Forager
Nov 20, 2003
Hampshire
Well, when it arrives it will be the Alan Wood version! I'm just excited at having placed the order and thought I could help pass the time (flippin' 9 months!) by posting a general question. I'm new to this game and originally considered buying the WS version to save both time and money. However, having read the various problems people have posted in this forum I came to my senses and decided on the proper Alan Wood version. I was just wondering if there was anything you could\should do to ensure the knife is as good as it can be?

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
Mat, take it out of the packaging and use it! I have never had a problem with my Allan Wood / Woodlore knife. They need nothing done to them. The WS ones have had a problem which they are rectifying, but that has no reflection on the Allan Wood.

It's a great knife :biggthump

qweeg500

Forager
Sep 14, 2003
Hampshire
Mat,
My Alan Wood Woodlore has had hard use and a took a dunking when I fell in a lake last year. At the time I was very worried about the handle and the sheath but both have been fine despite my immediate paranoia that the handle had swollen. I've examined a couple of other knives since the for the sake of comparison and it's clearly unscathed.
I'd been using vegetable oil on he handle and aluminium oxide paste on the blade but since reading recommendations on another thread on this forum have moved over to using renaissance wax on the blade and handle.