Hello from a froggy enjoying billhooks.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Dec 3, 2015
France
I stumbled upon this forum, searching for any crazy/stupid/unexperienced bushcrafter using a billhook, instead of any of these (expensive and) impressive bowie/machete/parang/whatever rambo-looking blade. And I finally found that I was far from alone.

I am not a bushcrafter myself. Just a man hoping to wander into nature without breaking it. And always a great (and clumsy) woodworking fan. I don't think doomsday is for tomorrow. I am not very preoccupied by a BOB when all hell will break loose.

Why a billhook? Well... As I am a professional firefighter, I just use axes for many things, especially breaking and entering, but not for anything relating to nature. In fact, in the only vehicle dedicated to fire in natural spaces, we have a very bad shaped one, that I never used; but we have 2 very useful parisian-shaped billhooks. I split wood, sometimes even with a little hatchett. But axes, culturally, they are just not for that; I know, it's quite strange. And, well, my double-edge billhook is just enough for most of the tasks I need doing; and it's more civilized in our much wandered forests...

I like your vision of bushcraft on this website. Humble, open; I have read some threads and articles and never got bored once.

I hope my english is not that bad. And maybe we will even talk about axes, who knows.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Hello :) and welcome to BcUK.

Very practical tools are billhooks :approve: don't think I've seen a Parisian shaped one though. Interesting :)

cheers,
Toddy

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
Hello Cyclope,
Welcome to BCUK, I hope you continue to enjoy yourself here.