Hay Rake

Muddypaws

Jan 23, 2009
Southampton
I know that this is not very bushcrafty, but it is quite traditional crafty, so I thought I would share some pics of one of my better efforts at rake making. (sorry if the picture quality is not up to much - I'm totally new to this digital photography lark)

rake2.jpg

rake4.jpg

The head, tines and hoop are made of willow, and the handle is hazel.

Any comments are appreciated.

pwb

Looks great , good work.

I picked one up at a farm sale a few years ago, use it quite a lot for clearing up after strimming rough areas of grass etc.
Loads better than modern rakes for that type of work.

Pete.

launditch1

Maker Plus and Trader
Nov 17, 2008
Eceni county.
Nice bit of work that.I love traditional crafts and another good thing is it was FREE!(wasnt it?)Ive also seen a type where the handle is split and put in the rake head and a collar put on the handle further up to stop it splitting.

Muddypaws

Jan 23, 2009
Southampton
If I recall correctly, the stail is the handle of a rake, and in my case is just a peeled hazel coppice pole.
However, the tines, or teeth, are made by splitting down a section of log into square section blanks, seasoning them, and then whacking them through a tine cutter (a tube with a sharpened end) and what falls out is a round section rake tine.

And yes, all the materials were free (except the string and linseed oil).

Mike Ameling

Need to contact Admin...
Jan 18, 2007
Iowa U.S.A.
www.angelfire.com
Nice rake.

The teeth were generally made from some hardwood like Oak or Hickory - to resist wearing away too fast. Some were made round, some were left square. Leaving the one end a little square helps lock it into the hole through the head. And pointing them is a matter of personal preference - some were, some were left pretty dull.

John Seymour shows some good pics in his Forgotten Crafts book. And Roy Underhill also shows rake and fork making in one of his Woodwrights books.