Half A Pig in a weekend (pic heavy)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Earthgirl

Forager
Nov 7, 2012
Wales
I've been wanting to have a go at this for ages, mainly because I've been itching to have a go at homemade sausages, hams and bacon and just to see if a complete novice could do it. It really was an experiment.

Well what can you make from Half a Pig in a weekend:

2 large pork liver, port and Shiitake mushroom pate's
4lb sausages
Large dish of assorted bbq ribs
10 large tennis ball size faggots
Large terrine of brawn
4 litres of pork stock (which will be bagged into portions for extra gravy for the faggots, well you can't have to much gravy...lol..)
Two large hams wiltshire cure
2 hocks and bones plus pork skin wiltshire cured, the hocks and bones for soup, the skin for scratchings
Loin or back bacon dry cured
Collar bacon wet cure
Loads of Pork scratchings from the skin
One whole tenderloin
Small roasting shoulder joint
Small piece of belly pork
3 large loin chops

It wasn't a large pig it was half a free range berkshire that I collected from a local smallholder, Total weight 22kg. 20kg of meat and 2kg of offal. The couple I bought it from had also given me their liver and heart as they wouldn't have time at the moment to deal with it.

I dont have a butchers saw so I asked their butcher to take off the head and trotters and cut the rest into large pieces that I could debone and deal with it myself.

We collected it last Friday evening and brought it home and put it on the work top to see if we could fit it back together again... lol... Basic pig anatomy

IMG_4461_zpsa7ae1f72.jpg

IMG_4462_zps203e92df.jpg

The head and trotters came in another bag and so did the offal

We put it all in the fridge and went to bed.