German army sleeping bag

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bushwakka

Feb 10, 2005
wherever I lay my soul
I've just taken possession of a mint condition german army sleeping bag..... an absolute snip at £10 on ebay. For those that aren't familiar with them they are sleeping bags with arms!! I've never used one before and was wondering what experiences are out there.

The bag itself seems to be 2-3 season rating at most so is probably ideal for summer/autumn use. I like the idea that the arms allow the user to perform tasks whilst wearing it e.g. making a brew/cooking. There is a horizontal zip at knee level which allows the sleeping bag to be turned into a parker (one less thing to carry!).

I intend to try it out (once the weather picks up) but would appreciate any advice. The potential disadvantages are that the arms may allow body heat to escape.

If they are no good then its only a tenner but I do hope it has some redeeming features!!
:pack:

Gary

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 17, 2003
from Essex
I had one ages again and I think they are pretty good bags, the bottom half can be folded up so the top can be worn as a parka liner too!!

There does seem to be a lot of new ones on the market at present so i guess the german's are dumping a load of war stock ...... I will have to look into this further me thinks!!

bothyman

Settler
Nov 19, 2003
Sutherland. Scotland.
There are two on ebay ??

Do they have a waterproof outer ?? :roll:

It looks like it. :shock:

Gary if the price is right I might be interested?? :yikes:

But remember I am a Yorkshireman so don't like to part with my money :Crazy_071

MickT

RAPPLEBY2000

Dec 2, 2003
England
hi, i used to have one,
not as warm as i thought.

you either love them or hate them, i hate them.