Free bushcraft course.

crosslandkelly

Jun 9, 2009
North West London
Weekend in Dorset, Bushcrafting.
I was lucky enough to get myself onto a free bushcraft course, run by John Boe, through the BCUK forum. John has set up a bushcraft school, and wanted to do a test run with some experienced and complete novice students, to test, tweak and critique the course.
The course included,
Tarp set up.
Knife safety and use.
Making a pot hook
Saw safety and use.
Fish and game prep.(Pigeon, Rabbit and Trout.) and cooking
Fire lays, Flint and steel, Ferro rod and bowdrill.
Navigation, night and day.
Shelter building.
Snares, traps and the legalities.
Wild edibles, and plant id.
Natural cordage.
Knife sharpening and knife law.
Bannock making.
Water and purification.
John and his instructors Tom and Tim, were clear, informative and friendly, and went out of their way to make everyone comfortable. A very intense weekend and very enjoyable. I would certainly recommend this school to anyone who wants to get into bushcraft and survival.Thanks John.

013.jpg 002.jpg004.jpg012.jpg005.jpg016.jpg018.jpg020.jpg023.jpg008.jpg009.jpg007.jpg026.jpg

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
Sounds like you had a cracking time Colin, great pictures too. Did you feel you learnt a lot or were you more consolidating skills you already possessed?

Looks quite chilled by the pictures,

Cheers for posting,
GB.

crosslandkelly

Jun 9, 2009
North West London
Sounds like you had a cracking time Colin, great pictures too. Did you feel you learnt a lot or were you more consolidating skills you already possessed?

Looks quite chilled by the pictures,

Cheers for posting,
GB.

Thanks Colin. The Friday afternoon was nice and warm, but Saturday was quite chilly. I picked up quite a few tips and tricks, and yes it was good to consolidate and improve existing skills. I do get out one weekend a month, but it really isn't enough to keep on top of new things learned. IMHO.:)

relin

Sep 29, 2010
Chesham