Foothold traps and spring traps. Legal to own??

Samon

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Mar 24, 2011
Britannia!
As per title, is it legal for residents of the UK to own foothold traps and spring traps? The ones designed to trap mammals for the fur trade, and ones designed for river side/bank trapping of minks, otters etc.

I'd like to aquire a few as decorative gift for a friends pub. I tried fleabay and only american auctions showed up.. So is this a legal reason, or something else?

Obviously they won't be used to injure anything and are solely for decorative purposes. Any input will be appreciated!

Cheers chaps

Samon

Mar 24, 2011
Britannia!

Yeah I guess the stereotypical bear trap design is what I was refering too, but also the ones in your second link.

I have little knowledge of trapping laws/restrictions and assumed only snares could be used to bag anything bigger than a rat.

I was kinda hoping to find old rusty ones, for a more authentic look amongst the pewter mugs and deac shotguns strewn about the walls..

JonathanD

Ophiological Genius
Sep 3, 2004
Stourton,UK
Many pubs around by me have these on display. Even a man sized one in one pub. Certainly not illegal to own or buy/sell. Definitely illegal to use as they are vile things.

JonathanD

Ophiological Genius
Sep 3, 2004
Stourton,UK
Examples....

13468_jpg.jpg

276246C3-BC8B-48B8-8ED2-641216273800.jpg
mIAPvWhYXYAJEfQMpXtt2GQ.jpg

Usually loads to be found on ebay.

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
Usually loads to be found on ebay.

Just saying for OP's benefit. I tried purchasing one from Ebay a while go and successfully bid on one only to have the Auction pulled by Ebay at the last moment.
Should probably point out I also only wanted one for my studies in trapping over the years , not to use.

Samon

Mar 24, 2011
Britannia!
Yeah I just had a quick search before o try to studynwhat ones I'd like to get. And there weren't many..