Fly-Tying

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Jan 1, 2024
LANCASHIRE
Any other Fly-tyers on here?

Went to a night class nearly forty years ago, and was taught by an amazing fly-tyer.

The basics was what he concentrated on, and was an amazing teacher. Each week was a different fly and the night class had a dozen or so basic kits with the materials coming each week for the next pattern.

Never forgot his mantra nor basics.
Is this still a popular tradition?

Have any Fly-Tyer's ran classes?

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk
Self-taught from books I'm afraid but I haven't done any for a while. The most satisfying was to tie a fly from goose feather, or whatever was at hand on the bank, cast, and catch a trout :)

When I was fishing a lot, I never bought flies.

Jan 1, 2024
LANCASHIRE
Yes. A lot of enjoyment to be had catching on your own tyings and experimental patterns.

I had a travel kit and vice once. It had a small midge vice with a finger loop on the stem, it was 4 inches long, and worn on your ring finger, the neck came up the palm of your hand and over your index finger. The tin had scissors a bobbin holder and hackle pliers and a mix of fur and feathers in it. All fitted in a 7 inch tin for 'matching the hatch'.

Wish I can remember where I put it.

FerlasDave

Jun 18, 2008
Off the beaten track
Self taught here too. Personally I’m not sure what difference a lesson would make in this instance as essentially it’s more of an art than a science. I would go for some lessons in catching first, and get an in depth understanding of how the fish interact with their food and I think that would stand you in good stead for recreating that food source. After all you could have the best fly in the world but if the variables don’t add up then you won’t catch.

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod