First time out ...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

deenewcastle

Tenderfoot
Jul 28, 2009
Newcastle upon Tyne
Ok, so I decide that I'd like to go along to one of the meets. I'm new to this, although I have done some camping in the past. I was wandering through the posts recently and I'm sure a saw a write-up of a meet where it snowed overnight. If I remember (I can't find the thread now) someone had taken some excellent photos on the way down. Anyway, the general photos showed some of the guys out with their tarps set up, some fires on the go, and it appeared as if at least some of them had been sleeping in normal small tents (?)

So the question, if I were to attend a meet, say at the end of October just south of Manchester, what is the minimum equipment I would need so that I wasn't a danger to myself and a burden on anyone else?

I know this is rather vague, but I've read so much here since I joined that I'm getting myself quite confused :eek:

stretch3144

Feb 3, 2009
North Tawton, Devon
I'm no expert but I'd suggest the KISS principle. Keep It Super Simple.
Basically, you should go for RMs' advice from some of his literature.
Something to sleep in
Something to sleep on
Something to sleep under
Something to light a fire with
Something to cook on
Something to carry it in
And then things like warm clothes, waterproofs, spare socks, a knife (try starting off with a Frosts Mora)
This list is not exhaustive but may point you in the right direction.
Just remember though....its your kit, you have to carry it...hence KISS.

Good luck and all the best.

Ian

alpha_centaur

Settler
Jan 2, 2006
Millport, Scotland
Alway's have a pair of wooley dry socks for at night and a wooley hat. They make such a differnce to your comfort level IMHO.

A dry change of clothes for the evening's is nice.