First axe - Carving primarily, firewood if needed - Which?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

SimonMast

Tenderfoot
Dec 12, 2011
Hertfordshire
Hi fellas,

So I'm fairly new to all this stuff, really. Been whittling since I was a wee lad, was a Scout. Never did anything other than whittling sticks and making fires, though. Recently been getting back into it, and wanting to have a go at kuksas and such....

Anyway, that's what I primarily want it for. I'm not going to be going into the woods every other weekend felling. However, I also don't want to completely rule out anything 'bigger' until I have the funds for something more suited to that. I'm a Scouter (in training!), and I don't want to opt for anything that won't be up to/will make cutting up firewood unduly arduous. I'd like to be able to make short work of what's most likely to be available, and still be able to deal with a trunk if that's what's on the wood pile. Etc.

Tl;dr: I need a good all rounder. Or, I think I do.

But which? I've found Robin Wood's thoughts on the matter (and his site in general) very useful, and he of course advocates the GB Swedish Carving Axe over the SmFR. But is that a bad choice as a first axe/for what I want one for?

Etc

Anyway, sorry for the long post. So far I have the following in the running:

Swedish Carving
Wildlife
Small Forest

And of course, any suggestions you have. Thanks! :)

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
Personally, if you're wanting to do carving then the swedish carving is what you should go for.

However, if you intend to use the axe for general work plus carving then I'd go the the SFA

But... what you could do is get the SFA then get yourself a kentish pattern axe head for a couple of pounds from a boot fair, rehandle, sharpen it up and use that for carving :)

SimonMast