Do you use contact lenses or glasses when outdoors?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Beardy

Need to contact Admin...
Nov 28, 2010
UK
Bit of an unusual question, not sure if contacts and specs count as clothing or kit, but hear me out.

I've been wearing glasses for astigmatism for the past four years. I can see without them fair enough mostly, but to do so to make out any fine detail either up close or afar (such as you would for reading or driving) means squinting to focus, and that means aching eyes and headaches - not fun. The glasses solve this just fine, and for most of the time they don't interfere with what I'm doing.

But going up Cadair Idris this last summer, I could hardly see a thing with them on, they were so misted up with the heat coming off me and then they were so streaked with sweat that got on them. Shooting with glasses on isn't ideal either - they interfere with my eye relief and I'm never sure how to set things up with them on. In the rain specs are a bother as you see nothing but beaded up raindrops on your lenses, and when you come inside after being out in the cold you get 'fog-up'. Taking them off eliminates these problem but it's not ideal as then I'm back to the Mk1 eyeball and if I want to be able to focus on something I have to keep on getting them out of my pack. They can also be a bugger to keep clean, and I've had a few pairs broken (dog sat on one, a windswept door to my face broke the others). They're pricey to replace too, which needs doing every few years with a change of prescription, regardless of me breaking any pairs or not.