Deerskin to Buckskin

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
After getting a deer hide just after Christmas (thanks to Silverback for this), I've eventually got started on turning it into buckskin. This is my first attempt, so I'm not going to do a tutorial as I don't know enough about the process, but if you do want information I thoroughly recommend the Deerskins to Buckskins DVD and book available from Amazon and from http://www.braintan.com. I managed to borrow a copy of the DVD from Buckshot :thanks: and it is one of the best training DVDs I have ever seen. The book is useful, but the 2.5 hour video gives you a real feel for what you need to do.

Here's the original hide after defrosting it (untreated hide keeps well in the freezer) - a Muntjac, a good one for a beginner because it is pretty tough and thick and small enough so that it isn't too much work in each of the stages, so if you mess up then you haven't wasted too much time.

buckskin_01.jpg

The first stage is fleshing, removing the remains of meat and fat from the inner side of the hide. I used a branch from one of the trees in the garden as the scraping post, having removed the bark and left it to dry out for a few months, supported by my workmate. The branch would be too small a diameter for a large hide, but works well for the small Muntjac. The scraper is a Frosts draw knife (thanks again to Buckshot for this) suitable blunted using my sharpening stone rubbed across the edge.

buckskin_02.jpg

And here it is ready for bucking.

buckskin_03.jpg