DD Hammock travel/bivi

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Widgy grub

Tenderfoot
Jun 28, 2012
Lincolnshire
Hi there ,
I'm new to the hammock game,
Made a purchase of the travel hammock / bivi, I had my first night out this weekend, it went better than I expected and was quit a comfy night..... One thing I noticed was there was quite allot of condensation in the hammock, by no means running about but enough to make my sleeping bag damp.
Is this the norm or am I doing something wrong?
Didn't have a basha up as it was a lovely eve, mozzy net was fully closed.

ged

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.
Condensation isn't unusual, especially with that hammock. It varies with materials, temperatures, insulation and the sleeper. I tend to have condensation problems as I sweat a lot. I generally use a breathable bivvy bag to keep my sleeping bag dry.

Chiseller

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 5, 2011
West Riding
No problems with mine. If it's hot I line it with a blanket , if it's cold I use pieces of sheepskin coats sewn together for my mat.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4 Beta

ADz-1983

Native
Oct 4, 2012
Hull / East Yorkshire
I'm also a first time hammocker and have same version as you but dont remember any condensation so I would suppose it depends on various factors like location/temp/bag/person etc.

Teepee

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 15, 2010
Northamptonshire
The Travel is not for everyone and can cause condensation to form. Personally, I don't find the non-breathable fabric to be a problem and never have really, but do get it with some combinations of insulation.