Damp-footed Newbie

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

cybercurly

Jun 12, 2013
basingstoke
Hello All,

As a complete newbie to the forum and bushcrafting I didn’t think I have much to say. But I thought I would perhaps launch in with the perspective of a novice who wants to learn. Having been a town/city boy all my life, I recently sold my seaside flat in Brighton and took on a live-in job at a very beautiful Hampshire woodland campsite. This was a dream come true for me and an offer I couldn’t refuse.

‘Simples!’, I thought, as I marched into the thigh-high thistles, wearing my shorts and flip-flops. ‘I can do this - I was a cubscout <cough cough> thirty or so years ago, and I will never forget how to tie a reef knot.’ <thinks - left over right/right over left....is it?...hang on. Right, which one was the sheepshank?>

I’m now a month in. I am still jumping out of my skin when a pheasant clatters out of the hedgerow, I have a rather fetching bunion blooming as a result of bargain basement boots, I still think that ‘something’ is out there in the dark beyond the fireglow and I am still...STILL checking my iPhone to see if it has enough charge to last me until I can turn the generator on in the evening.

Last night, my three hour, sweating, cursing attempt at the bow and drill culminated in a goodly amount of heat generated - all of it inside the collar of my fleece gilet. I was so close:- the first glimmer of an ember and some promising smoke were snuffed out by an ill-timed back twinge which resulted in me kicking the whole lot off the hearth and into the wet grass. I’m afraid hunger and frustration took over at that point and out came the ciggie lighter. Next time, I tell you, next time I’ll have it.