Chainsaws

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dirty Karlos

Forager
Oct 16, 2007
Hull
www.karlholtby.com
Hi all

I haven't been around here that much of late but I am just coming to the end of a three conservation course, so I am hoping to get out and about a bit more when that is out of the way. So anticipate many questions from myself.

Firstly, I am doing a week's chainsaw course next month (Lantra CLMC44X and NPTC CS30/31), I'm really looking forward to this as it is quite a sought after certificate in the world of conservation; however I suffer from tinnitus (quite badly at times) and I want to make sure that I am looking after me old lugs. Should I use ear defenders and ear plugs, any long time chainsaw operators with any thoughts on this? (or any advice at all as I am completely new to chainsaws!). I thought with this being a site full of woodland types that I may get some good advice

Also, anyone in Yorkshire fancy a spot of bivvying or a night under the tarp?

Many thanks

Karlos.

Chrisj

Nomad
Oct 14, 2009
Gwynedd
I've used chainsaws for work for years and have always been quite satisfied with just ear defenders but then I don't have tinitus so it is hard to say what would be best for you. I don't see why you couldn't use ear plugs in combination with ear defenders for extra protection. My only concern would be that if you cut out the noise too much then it may affect your awareness of your surroundings and what is going on around you. I'd say try both and if you don't like it change.

ged

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 16, 2009
In the woods if possible.