Car Insureance woes

Tengu

Jan 10, 2006
Wiltshire
A completley unreasonable quote as usual. (I asssume its because Im a mature student...)

But hey, it gets worse...

I have a pending claim...I touched a guy, didnt do any damage. But hes filed a claim anyway.

I took pictures (which did not make me very popular...) and sent them to my insurers....

How do I deal with this?

And get my quote down??

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
Lots of people will recommend an insurance company, but many of those are recommending it based on how low they quoted, not how the person was handled when they needed the insurance. Many have not needed to make or defend a claim. I have had four claims go through and am now a firm customer of A-Plan (a broker) who actually have branches that you can go and talk to a person in. That said, they have two branches within 18 miles of where I live, so that helps.

On the quotes. Check how unreasonable they are by playing with what you input. It would be wrong to lie when taking out the insurance, but using the electronic quote system to figure out what aspects of your details influence your quote should be fine. For instance, you could try different models and years of car, you may have one which is considered high risk. My mum was told that her Volvo 240 was not a high insurance group because it was fast, desirable or easy to steal, but because it would do a lot of damage if it simply rolled down a hill and hit another car! Insurance is affected by where you live, where you park, what mileage you do, what the vehicle is used for, your job, and the vehicle itself. Age has some bearing, but a lot less than it used to. Play around and find out why your quote is high, it may be something you can do something to change.