Broomstick?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

silvergirl

Nomad
Jan 25, 2006
Angus,Scotland
My kids have been asking for a broom each for christmas:rolleyes: , however I'm not sure if I'll have much time to make them (exams next week!, I'm studying honest;) ).

I have two options at the moment -
Find one for sale, I want two traditional good quality brooms that can sweep up 1/2 an acre of leaves (and double up as a witches broom of course).

Or make some. I have made them in the past but I have had problems making them robust enough, they tend to shed twigs.

Does anyone have tips advice on what I should be doing, which woods etc. How to attach one the tail so it doesn't disintegrate.

Or suggestions where I can buy them, local garden centre doesn't seem to have them. And I don't want anything involving plastic.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
There's a man called Robbie Gordon, who lives up near you. He demonstrates rope making and broom making at heritage centres, parks days and events. He made mine and it's lasted over a year of regular use so far. He writes articles and poetry in the Doric.
I don't know how to get in touch with him other than through a friend of a friend, but if you can't find him any other way.......

cheers,
Toddy

Mike Ameling

Need to contact Admin...
Jan 18, 2007
Iowa U.S.A.
www.angelfire.com
If your brooms are shedding twigs, they you are probably not getting the wire wrapping/tie tight enough. It isn't that easy to do. You almost need "mechanical advantage" to tighten the wire wrap up enough.

One little "fix" would be to use a little glue worked into the twig bundle. This would help hold everything in place. And if you choose a clear drying glue, it would be hard to see. Yes, pine pitch would be a little more traditional, but can be mess-ier.